Week-long Fest Caps Off With First-Ever ‘Iconic Pop Jazz’ and Awarding

The much-anticipated Iconic Pop Jazz and Awarding Ceremony clinched the week-long anniversary on September 10, 2016 at 7 o’clock in the gym. The night was littered with excitement as throngs of students and guests lobbied for their respective year and level. The first-ever iconic pop jazz contest had five teams showcase a comboof dancing, impersonation, creativity, personality, talent.

The show was jazzed up by no less than the Over-all Coordinator of the 25th Founding Anniversary Ms. Maria Luz G. Cahayagan, Capt. Geolino Rafael Casenas and Mr.Emman Roi J. Martinez as hosts. Judging the competition were award-winning and distinguished pop jazzers namely: Mr. Romnick A. Pacquiao of CTU San Fernando Instructor and Naga instructor, Miss Rizah Rae D. Dente, Pop Jazz Adviser of the University of San Carlos, and Mr. Earl Philip, Pop Jazz Choreographer of Cebu Doctor’s University.

The competition commenced with the first entry, the Third Year, with Britney Spears as their Iconic superstar.  They made it again being this year’s grand champion; this same group won last year’s Mardi Gras Competition.The second entry was the Second Year whose iconic superstar was Lady Gaga.  They placed third runner-up with Gaga’s signature bizarre and surreal performance. The third entry was the Freshmen with Katy Perry as their iconic superstar; they placed 4th in their Egyptian-themed performance. The Basic Education Department dazzled as the fourth contender with Beyoncé as their iconic superstar; they won as first runner up in their astonishing back-to-back concert ‘Single Ladies’and ‘Saving the best for the last’. And last but not least were the Fourth Year whose iconic superstar was Shakira; they placed second in their glow-in-the-dark costume. Each received cash prizes as token of their stellar performances.

Of course, the intramurals would not be complete without the best athletes and teams who made it to the top. This year’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) is Mr. Kenjie Celestial and the Over-all Champion of the Intramurals 2016 is 2nd year A with Ms. CherissaLatoja as team adviser and SSC Volunteer Rhyzbel Harada.The first runner-upis the Basic Education Department with Mr. RaphyLacanaria as adviser. The 3rd Year B placed second with team adviser Ms. Jejomaria Calunsag and SSC Volunteer Mearl Velasco. The third runner-up is 3rd Year A with team adviser Capt. Dwight Tan and SSC volunteer Ms. Katherine May Castilla. The fourth placer is 2nd Year B with team adviser Capt. Kleen Molina and SSC volunteer Gianne Maria Ouano and last but not least is the fifth runner-up, the 4th Year A, with team adviser Capt. Jessie Lagapa and SSC volunteer Mr. Harlem S. Garcia.

After, the Performing Arts Guild (PAG) took to the floor their unity dance with a touch of Kat de Luna’s ‘Boom BoomBoom’. Mr. Harold Toring, IAU’s Chief Executive Officer, gave his closing remarks underscoring the theme “Ace Up For A Better You” to be lived in the hearts, mind, and spirit of the Aerospacers.  Not only that he announced that an “after-party” would follow featuring IAU’s alumni DJ Noel with MC’s DJ Faith and DJ Khaleed. Indeed, it was a night of revelation and surprises as the curtains closed for the 24th Foundation Anniversary.

By : Quincy Niña Garcia, BSAM2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *