Senator Koko Pimentel is IAU’s 25th Commencement Speaker

“What makes you phenomenal is that if others are still looking at the sky, IAU graduates are already looking at the moon,” quipped guest of honour and speaker Senate President Aquilino “Koko” Pimentelbefore Batch Phenomenal during the commencement exercises on March 25, 2018.  The graduates were also congratulated by the Senate President during his speech, promising work opportunities for airline graduates and mentioning how they chose the right course as Aviation Industry is really booming. Quoting lines from Robert Frost’s famous poem, Senator Pimentel III reminded graduates that life outside the academe presents a lot of challenges and opportunities.  IAU graduates should then strive to make a difference even if he chooses the “road less travelled by”. Furthermore, he also encouraged the graduating class that what made them phenomenal is the very fact that they chose the path of excellence towards global competitiveness through their education at IAU. After his speech, Senator Pimentel III was awarded a Cessna 150 miniature plane by Chief Executive Officer Harold Toring together with Founders and President Dr.Jovenal and Madam Celia Toring. Senator Pimentel left shortly after the presentation of the token of appreciation. His father, former Senate President Aquilino “Nene” Pimentel and many of the country’s top statesmen such as the late Miriam Defensor Santiago, former Senator Juan Ponce Enrile and former President and now Speaker of the House Rep. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo also had the occasion to be commencement speakers in the previous years. The ceremony proceeded to the presentation of graduates, the conferment of titles and degrees, and the distribution of diplomas and certificates. Another major highlight was the presentation of academic and special awards with Hon. Harold E. Toring, Dr. Nonita D. Legaspi, and Dr.Carbonilla. The valedictory address of batch Cum Laude Dinah T. Rosal, BS Airline Management Major followed. Capping off the ceremony was the pledge of loyalty led by Mr. Nestor G. Paypa, President of IAU Alumni, and the singing of the IAU Hymn.The following are the Academic and Special Awards recipients: Pilot of the Year: Capt. Kaye D. Bernales Leadership Awardees: Babatuan,  Ronnielyn M. Harada, Rhyzbel M. Martinez, EmmanRoi J. Service Awardees: Bayhon,  Miamil Kristelle A. Madrona, Allan Philip II S. Miñosa, Nhecarl V. Taculad, Twenie Divine L. St. Therese Awardees: Cordoves, Alster S. Garcia, Quincy Niña Labastilla, Krizza Mae P. Machacon, Hillary Marie C. Pedire, Vince Lusther Q. Velasco, MearlJhane M. Best Thesis of Academic Year 2017-2018 The study “Aircraft Incidents and Accidents in Mactan Cebu International    Airport” Bequilla, Virgil S. Bunado, Karlo S. Casocot, Angelmae Nino C. Ligtas, John Philip M. Montero,  Karl Joseph C. Novados, Jon Marbe I. Ubalde, Troy Carlo   by Krystel Joy L. Lañojan BSEd-English

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *